Dec 15, 2015

Review: Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes

Title: Frozen Tides
Author: Morgan Rhodes
Publication Date: 12.15.2015
Series: Falling Kingdoms #4
Source:  Finished copy from publisher

Rating: 4 ½ Stars

Summary (from Goodreads):
Rebels, royals, and monsters wage war over the Mytican throne in the shocking fourth book of the Falling Kingdoms series, from New York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes.

CLEO: Reeling after a bloody showdown in Limeros ending with Amara’s abduction of the water crystal, and a vacancy in the Mytican throne, Princess Cleo must cast aside her feelings and look toward her kingdom with the eyes of a Queen.

MAGNUS: With the kingdom in chaos, Princess Lucia still missing and quite possibly in danger, and a shocking realization about Cleo, the steely prince is once again torn between love and duty, leaving him wondering whether he’s strong enough to rule his people.

LUCIA: The young sorcercess has had her vengeance after the cruel death of her first and only love. Heartbroken and unable to trust anyone, she allies with the awoken Fire god, who also seeks revenge.

JONAS: After escaping death by the skin of his teeth, the defeated rebel—along with a mysterious stranger–leader reunites with Princess Cleo, only to find himself a mere pawn in a dangerous hunt for the elusive Kindred.

KING GAIUS: Abandoned by Melenia and betrayed by his own children, Gaius flees Mytica and sails to Kraeshia, where he attempts to ally with the famously brutal emperor across the Silver Sea.

I swear, this series just gets better and better with every book. The fact that it’s book 4 and I’m still heavily invested (you guys know I have an issue reading series’), is a testament to the awesomeness that is Falling Kingdoms and Morgan Rhodes.

FROZEN TIDES picks up shortly where Gathering Darkness left off. Without giving away too much of the plot from past books, FROZEN TIDES seriously ups the ante. I loved traveling beyond the shores of Mytica to Kraesha with Amara. Amara completely caught me off guard. Her intelligence and ruthlessness absolutely stunned me in the best ways possible and she is truly set up as a force to be reckoned with in FROZEN TIDES. I can’t wait to see her in the next book!

I have loved watching the evolution of Magnus, Jonas, and Cleo. These three are my absolutely faves (OK, Magnus is #1), and their growth from book 1 to book 4 is incredible. They’ve learned and adapted and persevered and refused to give up.

Fans of Falling Kingdoms are going to be hopelessly entranced by FROZEN TIDES. Rhodes once again bests herself in the storytelling game, weaving a masterful tale of secrets, deceit and love. 


I hope you know that every time you comment, an angel gets its wings.

OK, not really, but thanks for popping by!